Chickens ate my garbage

The French village of Pince has come up with an innovative way of responding to the EU Directive to divert domestic waste from going into landfills. They have decided to give a couple of chickens to each household to keep in their backyard, and to feed them on kitchen waste. Householders must promise not to eat or sell the chickens for two years, and have also been given instructions for how to look after them. They reckon each chicken will eat 330 pounds of waste each year. Other villages in France and Belgium have decided to do the same thing.

http://www.energybulletin.net/stories/2012-08-13/three-french-hens

This ingenious solution seems to have a certain resonance for Hong Kongers, doesn’t it? It scarcely needs to be said that we have a problem with waste disposal, and it is way past time to abandon the ridiculous prohibition on keeping backyard chickens. There are plenty of people here on Lantau who would leap at the opportunity of having a couple of chooks. Not only could the chickens eat kitchen waste, but they would provide a ready supply of fresh eggs, which would be a real boon for everyone involved, especially the poorer members of the community. It would be a far more sensible way of disposing of some of the obscene amounts of money that the city has accumulated rather than trying to buy people’s compliance in a system which sucks up to the rich while trashing the planet, with handouts and cuts in energy bills. It wouldn’t solve the waste disposal problem, obviously, but it would certainly help. It’s one way of turning a problem into a solution, and it might inspire others to come up with other small-scale solutions. It’s cheap and simple, with positive outcomes for everyone.

About transitionsl

I've been an English teacher for the best part of 30 years, teaching in England, Tanzania, Brunei, Australia and Hong Kong. I've always been interested in nature and environmental issues, but it was the discovery of Peak Oil about five years ago that galvanised me into trying to help my local community to prepare for what will be a dramatically different world to the one many of us have been used to. I've been helping to run a transition group, following the guidelines created by Rob Hopkins's Transition Movement in the UK. This blog is an attempt to engage in discussion with a wider group of people in Hong Kong on the ways to transition from our current oil dependency to a state of fossil-free local resilience.
This entry was posted in Food, Sustainable Cities, Waste. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Chickens ate my garbage

  1. Marvelous, what a webpage it is! This blog provides
    useful facts to us, keep it up.

  2. hemorroides says:

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll
    be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  3. First of all I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I have had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out. I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Thank you!

    • transitionsl says:

      I wish I could say something useful! I’ve actually written very little over the last year, but I usually get myself worked up over issues over an extended period of time by doing a lot of reading, preferably of bloggers or scientists and journalists who I’ve grown to trust. Eventually the pressure builds up inside such that the writing is a bit like lancing a boil (long time since I’ve had a boil!). I’m not very good at planning things, least of all my writing, but I suppose one way to start is to give a ‘balanced’ account of the topic that’s bugging you, and then spend the rest of your article tearing it to pieces! Try to have good evidence to back up each point that you make, but I think you’re right in saying the first fifteen minutes are the toughest, or rather the first paragraph. Above all, write about what you feel passionate about, let it flow, and then leave it for a day or two and look at it with a critical eye to see if you’ve actually stepped over the limit. Improve it, then publish! Sorry I can’t be more helpful.

  4. Sixpack says:

    Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts
    and I am waiting for your further post thanks once again.

  5. Greetings! I’ve been following your site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic job!

  6. My relatives all the time say that I am killing my time
    here at web, except I know I am getting knowledge every day by reading such pleasant articles.

  7. Excellent weblog here! Additionally your website quite a bit up fast!
    What web host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink on your host?
    I want my website loaded up as fast as yours lol

    • transitionsl says:

      Thanks for your encouraging comments. The web host is wordpress.com which I’m pleased with, but I’m pretty much computer illiterate, so I’m not sure about your second question! You can certainly pass on my hyperlink to others, though.

  8. Good replies in return of this matter with real
    arguments and explaining everything concerning that.

  9. Brianna says:

    Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site,
    how could i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

  10. What i do not realize is if truth be told how you are now not
    really a lot more well-liked than you might be right now.
    You’re so intelligent. You understand thus considerably with regards to this subject, made me individually believe it from a lot of various angles. Its like women and men don’t
    seem to be interested except it’s something to do with Girl gaga! Your individual stuffs nice. Always deal with it up!

  11. Hemorroides says:

    I was very pleased to discover this web site.
    I want to to thank you for ones time due to this fantastic read!
    ! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and i also have you bookmarked to check out new information in your blog.

  12. I believe this is one of the so much significant information for me.
    And i am satisfied reading your article. But should remark on few normal things, The site style is perfect, the articles is in point of fact
    great : D. Excellent task, cheers

  13. Anonymous says:

    Hiya very nice blog!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .

    . I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?
    I am glad to find so many useful info here within the post, we want develop more strategies on this regard, thanks
    for sharing. . . . . .

  14. Lowell says:

    Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wondering your situation; we have
    created some nice procedures and we are looking to exchange techniques with others, why
    not shoot me an email if interested.

  15. Floyd says:

    Wow, this post is nice, my sister is analyzing such things,
    so I am going to tell her.

  16. hello!,I love your writing very so much! proportion we keep up a correspondence more about your article on AOL?
    I require an expert in this area to solve my problem.

    Maybe that’s you! Having a look forward to see you.

  17. nagelpilz says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that
    I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing
    to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  18. Carson says:

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is really informative.

    I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if
    you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited
    from your writing. Cheers!

  19. webcamchat says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say you’ve done a very good job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Internet explorer.

    Superb Blog!

  20. When someone writes an piece of writing he/she retains the
    plan of a user in his/her mind that how a user can be aware of it.
    Therefore that’s why this post is amazing. Thanks!

  21. hemroids says:

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after going through some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m definitely happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back
    often!

Leave a Reply

