Adopt-a-Plant

Inspired by Mark Watson’s article ‘Getting Connected’ which I read on Energy Bulletin,  http://www.energybulletin.net/stories/2012-03-19/getting-connected I’ve decided to invite people to my organic farm to try out one of the activities he mentions, although I’m calling it Adopt-a-Plant rather than restricting it to herbs. I’m asking people – and I’m hoping children will be interested – to walk round the farm with us as we introduce the plants to them, and then choose a plant that they particularly like. They then draw it, photograph it, and take a leaf rubbing, and plant a seed or seedling in a pot which they’ll take home and look after.

As well as the plants, there will be tadpoles and possibly frogs and frogspawn to see in our pond, and I’ll be getting my beehive delivered this week, so there will be bees, and no doubt hornets to be seen too. If they want to extend their drawing and photography to these, then that will be even better.

I’m also asking people to bring a few things to nibble and drink, so we can have lunch together, which I can embellish with organic salad from the farm.

The idea is to find a fun way to connect with nature, and hopefully to experience a few exciting moments, such as seeing frogspawn, or a buzzard overhead, which will inspire people to make further connections in future. If you’ve never experienced the thrill of witnessing something dramatic in nature, then you’re not likely to have any concept of why people hold nature so dear.

I’m also hoping everyone will go home and do some research into their plant, and let me know what they’ve found out, so a database or new website can be set up to provide information on the plants that can be grown in Hong Kong, including, of course, interesting ways of cooking them.

So, if you’re interested in coming along and taking part, the details are on the poster below, which you’ll need to enlarge, but for safe measure:

Saturday 7 April, 11 am onwards.

Don’s Organic Farm, next to Mabel’s, in Luk Tei Tong, Mui Wo.

Email djlatter@gmail.com 

About transitionsl

I've been an English teacher for the best part of 30 years, teaching in England, Tanzania, Brunei, Australia and Hong Kong. I've always been interested in nature and environmental issues, but it was the discovery of Peak Oil about five years ago that galvanised me into trying to help my local community to prepare for what will be a dramatically different world to the one many of us have been used to. I've been helping to run a transition group, following the guidelines created by Rob Hopkins's Transition Movement in the UK. This blog is an attempt to engage in discussion with a wider group of people in Hong Kong on the ways to transition from our current oil dependency to a state of fossil-free local resilience.
This entry was posted in Community Activities, Encounters with Nature, Transition Activities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

