Spring is Sprung

Maybe it was the long, cold (by Hong Kong’s standards) winter, or maybe it was the long, dry Spring with scarcely a trace so far of the sopping humidity that caused black mould to crawl over everyone’s ceilings last year, but something seems to have given rise to a wonderful abundance of food down on the farm this year. In my garden and on my allotment nearly everything is doing better than ever before. I’m still harvesting loads of tomatoes, although I’ve usually given up long before mid-May because they get attacked by something that lays its eggs in them by sticking its ovipositor right down where the stalk is, so if you don’t check carefully for the tell-tale black hole, you’ll end up with a mouthful of maggots. This year I’ve had none of that. My beans are producing at a rate I can hardly keep up with, so I give some away and stick some in the freezer for later use. My sweet potatoes and yams are looking great, and my herbs are doing fine apart from my oregano and coriander being attacked by something that was killing them off but now seems to be receding. I have to admit that melon flies are getting more of my cucumbers than I am, and they’re finishing off most of my pumpkins, so I want to use some neem oil spray on them to see if it stops it. The same goes for my courgettes. My fruit trees, all small, are also doing really well. The citrus are good, especially the orange, although birds, I think, have been nicking a lot of them. I should have covered them. One of my two lychees has flowered for the first time in about six years, and both have got a good crop on them, and my passionfruit is just incredible – masses of flowers and fruit. There’s other stuff which is looking equally healthy – mulberries, eggplants, sweet peppers. What’s going on? I’m just a bit worried that nature knows something about what’s around the corner that I don’t. Is this a desperate effort to spawn itself before the shit hits the fan? Or have I been doing something right in the garden for the last few years and now I’m getting my reward? Whatever, it’s the most wonderful feeling to be out there surrounded by such abundance, and being able to take home a bagful of good organic food to eat. Life feels good right now.

About transitionsl

I've been an English teacher for the best part of 30 years, teaching in England, Tanzania, Brunei, Australia and Hong Kong. I've always been interested in nature and environmental issues, but it was the discovery of Peak Oil about five years ago that galvanised me into trying to help my local community to prepare for what will be a dramatically different world to the one many of us have been used to. I've been helping to run a transition group, following the guidelines created by Rob Hopkins's Transition Movement in the UK. This blog is an attempt to engage in discussion with a wider group of people in Hong Kong on the ways to transition from our current oil dependency to a state of fossil-free local resilience.
This entry was posted in Organic Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

